تاريخ الطيران

عباس بن فرناس   •
أول ظهور للطائرات في جزيرة العرب   •
أول طيار سعودي   •
أول مهمة عربية للفضاء الخارجي   •



عباس بن فرناس

.أبو القاسم عباس بن فرناس بن ورداس التاكرتي الأندلسي القرطبي، ولد عام 810م وتوفي عام 887م عاش عباس في إمارة قرطبة في الأندلس ويعتبر من أشهر العلماء المسلمين الأندلسيين وكان مخترعاً ومهندساً وطياراً وطبيباُ

يعتبر أول من اخترق الجو من البشر وأول من فكر في الطيران واعتبره المنصفون أول رائد للفضاء وأول مخترع للطيران، فقد كسا نفسه الريش ومد له جناحين طار بهما في الجو مسافة بعيدة ثم سقط فتأذى في ظهره لأنه لم يعمل له ذيلاً، وكان عمره آنذاك الخامسة والستون سنة. ومن الواضح حسب المصادر أن عباس بن فرناس قام بتجربته في الطيران بعد أبحاث وتجارب عدة، وقد قام بشرح تلك الأبحاث أمام جمع من الناس دعاهم ليريهم مغامرته القائمة على الأسس العلمية

قام عباس بن فرناس بتجارب كثيرة، درس في خلالها ثقل الأجسام ومقاومة الهواء لها، وتأثير ضغط الهواء فيها إذا ما حلقت في الفضاء، وكان له خير معين على هذا الدرس تبحره في العلوم الطبيعية والرياضة والكيمياء فاطلع على خواص الأجسام، واتفق لديه من المعلومات ما حمله على أن يجرب الطيران الحقيقي بنفسه، فكسا نفسه بالريش الذي اتخذه من الحرير لمتانته وقوته، وهو يتناسب مع ثقل جسمه وصنع له جناحين متحركين من الحرير أيضاً يحملان جسمه

وفي عام 875م وبعد أن أعد العدة أعلن على الملأ أنه يريد أن يطير في الفضاء، وأن طيرانه سيكون من مكان مرتفع معروف لدى الناس في ظاهر مدينة قرطبة، فاجتمع الناس هناك لمشاهدة هذا العمل الفريد والطائر الآدمي الذي سيحلق في فضاء قرطبة، وصعد أبو القاسم بآلته الحريرية فوق المرتفع وحرك جناحيه وقفز في الجو، وطار في الفضاء مسافة بعيدة عن المحل الذي انطلق منه والناس ينظرون إليه بدهشة وإعجاب وعندما هم بالهبوط إلى الأرض تأذي في ظهره، فقد فاته أن الطائر إنما يقع على ذنبه، ولم يكن يعلم موقع الذنب في الجسم أثناء هبوطه إلى الأرض، فأصيب في ظهره بما أصيب من أذى

وهنا تجدر الإشارة بأن تجربة ابن فرناس في الطيران، قد كانت المصدر الوحيد للأوربيين منذ القرن الحادي عشر الميلادي. فمن غير المشكوك فيه أن يكون رائد الطيران الأوربي "إيلمر" ومن جاء بعده، قد قرأوا عن تجربة ابن فرناس واتخذوا منها مصدرًا لاستلهام فكرة الطيران في أوربا، وهو ما يؤكده أستاذ التاريخ الأمريكي الدكتور "لين هوايت" من خلال بحث علمي كتبه وتم نشره في مجلة التكنولوجيا والثقافة (المجلد 2- العدد 2) عام 1960م

ورغم ذلك فإن ابن فرناس هو أول رائد فضاء في التاريخ، وله يعود الفضل الكبير في تقدم علوم الفضاء التي أخذت تتطور طيلة ثمانية قرون، حتى تمكن الأخوان "رايت" من الطيران في 1903م


أول ظهور للطائرات في جزيرة العرب عام 1916 ميلادياً

كان الظهور الأول للطائرات في جزيرة العرب أثناء النزاع العسكري بين الدولة العثمانية والانجليز الذين دعموا ما عرف بالثورة العربية الكبرى التي قادها الشريف حسين ضد الحاميات العثمانية في الحجاز

ساندت الحامية البريطانية في مصر الشريف حسين بالمدافع والعربات المصفحة بالإضافة إلى ست طائرات من نوع (بي إي 2 سي) مجهزة بالمدافع الرشاشة. وتم نقل الطائرات بواسطة باخرة بريطانية رست في ميناء مدينة رابغ في الثاني عشر من نوفمبر عام 1916م

صورة أرشيفية: الطائرة (بي إي 2 سي) في وادي حمض في شمال غرب المملكة العربية السعودية

لقد أدى التسليح المتقدم والخطط التكتيكية التي وضعها الرائد الانجليزي (تي لورانس) الشهير بـ (لورانس العرب) إلى هزيمة الحامية العثمانية وانحسارها شمالا


أول طيار سعودي

يعد الطيار عبدالسلام سرحان الذي ينتمي إلى أسرة عريقة في مكة المكرمة، أول طيار سعودي وأول طيار عربي يحلق بطائرة في الجزيرة العربية. كان ذلك في شهر ابريل من عام 1923م عندما ضابطا برتبة ملازم في جيش الحجاز التابع للشريف حسين والذي كان يخوض نزاعا مسلحا أمام جيش الملك عبدالعزيز في المنطقة بين الطائف ومكة المكرمة. وبرغم النزاع بين الشريف حسين والملك عبدالعزيز والذي انتهى سلميا، إلا إن الملك عبدالعزيز كان حريصا على المؤهلين من أبناء الجزيرة العربية، حيث سرعان ما الحق الملازم الطيار عبدالسلام سرحان، كغيره من أبناء منطقة الحجاز المؤهلين، لتطوير مؤسسات دولته الوليدة. وكان الشريف حسين قد تلقى أعدادا من طائرات (دي هافيلاند) من أسراب القوات الجوية البريطانية في مصر تم شحنها على متن السفينة (طنطا) التي رست في ميناء جدة في يوليو من عام 1921م. وكان يعمل لدى جيش الشريف حسين طيارون مرتزقة من روسيا البيضاء ومن ايطاليا واليونان


يعد الطيار عبدالسلام سرحان الذي ينتمي إلى أسرة عريقة في مكة المكرمة، أول طيار سعودي وأول طيار عربي يحلق بطائرة في الجزيرة العربية. كان ذلك في شهر ابريل من عام 1923م عندما ضابطا برتبة ملازم في جيش الحجاز التابع للشريف حسين والذي كان يخوض نزاعا مسلحا أمام جيش الملك عبدالعزيز في المنطقة بين الطائف ومكة المكرمة. وبرغم النزاع بين الشريف حسين والملك عبدالعزيز والذي انتهى سلميا، إلا إن الملك عبدالعزيز كان حريصا على المؤهلين من أبناء الجزيرة العربية، حيث سرعان ما الحق الملازم الطيار عبدالسلام سرحان، كغيره من أبناء منطقة الحجاز المؤهلين، لتطوير مؤسسات دولته الوليدة. وكان الشريف حسين قد تلقى أعدادا من طائرات (دي هافيلاند) من أسراب القوات الجوية البريطانية في مصر تم شحنها على متن السفينة (طنطا) التي رست في ميناء جدة في يوليو من عام 1921م. وكان يعمل لدى جيش الشريف حسين طيارون مرتزقة من روسيا البيضاء ومن ايطاليا واليونان

وكان للطيار عبدالسلام سرحان الفضل في تحديد مواقع المطارات التي تم إنشاءها في عهد المؤسس الملك عبدالعزيز آل سعود رحمه الله في أنحاء المملكة العربية السعودية المترامية الأطراف، وأسهم رحمه الله لعقود من الزمن في تطوير الطيران المدني في السعودية


أول مهمة عربية للفضاء الخارجي

قام صاحب السمو الملكي الأمير سلطان بن سلمان بن عبدالعزيز آل سعود برحلة تاريخية إلى الفضاء الخارجي في عام 1985م وهي تعد التجربة الأولى من نوعها على مستوى العالم العربي. ويعد الأمير سلطان بن سلمان أول رائد فضاء عربي سعودي يشارك في البعثة الدولية للمكوك الفضائي ديسكفري (اس تي اس – 51 – جي) كأخصائي الحمولة

يمتلك خبرة أصيلة في الطيران المدني والعسكري فهو مؤسس ورئيس مجلس إدارة نادي الطيران السعودي ويمارس الطيران المدني لأكثر من ثلاثة عقود، وعمل لمدة تجاوزت عشرة سنوات في القوات الجوية الملكية السعودية. حصل سموه على عدد كبير من الأوسمة والنوط المحلية والعربية والعالمية إشادة بالانجازات التاريخية وأبرزها (وشاح الملك عبدالعزيز) و (نوط الفضاء من إدارة الطيران والفضاء الوطنية ناسا) و (درجة الدكتوراه الفخرية في العلوم من جامعة الملك فهد للبترول والمعادن) و (نوط النجمة والوشاح العظيم من جمهورية الصين الشعبية) وغيرها الكثير

ولد سموه في مدينة الرياض وسط المملكة العربية السعودية ويشغل حالياً منصب رئيس الهيئة العامة للسياحة والآثار

معلومات مقتبسة من السلسلة المصورة لتاريخ الطيران العربي للدكتور سعد الأحمد*




الداعمون









إبقى على اتصال

M : +966 503340767
   : +966 542531910
E : info@saudi1-atw.com

ساهم معنا

نبإمكانك متابعتنا على مواقع شبكات التواصل الاجتماعي للحصول على المستجدا نبإمكانك متابعتنا على مواقع شبكات التواصل الاجتماعي للحصول على المستجدات اليوميةت اليومية.

نبإمكانك متابعتنا على مواقع شبكات ا.

جميع الحقوق محفوظة لموقع سعودي 1 حول العالم - 2014 © الموقع صمم من قبل شركة دازل تك

Aviation History

a) Abbas bin Fernas

b) First fleet in Arabian Peninsula

c) First Saudi Pilot

d) First Arabian outer space mission



Abbas Ibn Firnas

Abu Al-Qasim Abbas Ibn Firnas Ibn Wirdas Al—Takurti the Andalusian Al-Qurtobi, was born in 810 AD and died in 887 AD. Abbas lived in Emirate of Cordoba in Al-Andalus and he is reputed to be one of the best known Muslims Andalusian scientists as he was an inventor, engineer, pilot, and doctor.

He was the first human to try to fly and the first one who thought of aviation. People thought of him as the first astronaut and the first inventor of aviation when he feathered himself and installed two wings by which he could fly for a distant but, unfortunately, he crashed which caused him back pain. This happened because he didn’t fix a tail. At this time his old was sixty five years.

Abbas Ibn Firnas conducted different experiments. However, he studied the weight of bodies and the relevant air resistance in addition to effect of air pressure in such bodies if they could fly. In this trial, his vast knowledge in physics, mathematics, and chemistry was helpful to him where he got acquainted with characteristics of substances and gained the necessary information to try the real process of flying himself. At that time, he covered himself with feather that was made of the strong silk which was able to support his heavy body, later; he attached two mobile wings of silk as strong carriers while flying.

On the year 875 AD, Abbas Ibn Firnas declared in public in regards of the intention to fly, starting from a high point known for all people of Cordoba who crowded to watch such inimitable act and this human bird that would fly in the sky of Cordoba. Abu Al-Qasim ascended the hill using his silk machinery, then moved his wings and jumped into the air. Thereby the result was that he flew to a point far from the launch stand that made people look admiringly. But like before his back was hurt while landing as he forgot the fact that the bird could land using its tail for balance and he, of course, was ignorant in regards to the significance of tail in body during the moment of landing.

Accordingly, we could refer that the experiment of Abbas Ibn Firnas was the sole spring for the Europeans since the eleventh Gregorian century as it is un-doubtlessly known that pioneer of European aviation called "Elmer" and his successors have read about the experience made by Abbas Ibn Firnas and they based upon it as a source to aspire the idea of aviation in the continent of Europe that has been confirmed by professor of American history, Dr. "Leen Hwaite", in the Scientific research he wrote and published in the magazine of technology and culture (Vol. 2 –edition 2) dated 1960 AD.

Notwithstanding, Abbas Ibn Firnas is regarded as first astronaut over history as he is thanked for achieving progress in aerospace science that developed through eight centuries till the appearance of brothers white who could fly in 1903 AD.



1916 AD initial of Aero-planes in Arabian Peninsula

The introduction of airplanes in Arabian Peninsula occurred during the military conflict that broke out between Ottoman state and the English who supported what named thereby as the major Arab up-rise led by Sheriff Hussein against Ottoman escorts in Al-Hejaz region.

In Egypt, the British escort supported Sheriff Hussein with guns and armored vehicles. Furthermore, six airplanes of the type (BE2C) were equipped with machine guns. These airplanes were transported by a British vessel that landed in Rabigh seaport dated 12th November, 1916 AD.

Archive picture: The airplanes of the type (BE2C) in Hemdh valley, northwest of Saudi Arabia.

The advanced arming and the tactics made by the English lieutenant (Te Laurence) named (Arab Laurence) resulted in defeat of Ottoman escort that withdrew northward.



The first Saudi pilot

The pilot, Abdulsalaam Sarhan, who was a member of a noble family in Holly Makkah, is considered as the first Saudi pilot and the first Arabian pilot who flew over the Arabian Peninsula in April 1923 AD when he was a lieutenant in the army of Al-Hejaz that was commanded by Sheriff Hussein who was fighting against the army led by King Abdulaziz in the region located between Taif and Holly Makkah.

Despite of such dispute occurred between Sheriff Hussein and King Abdulaziz which were peaceful; however, King Abdulaziz was keen on the qualified sons of the Arabian Peninsula as he made a haste to join Abdulsalaam Sarhan in capacity of pilot officer besides the other qualified persons from Al-Hejaz region for the purpose of development of the newborn state. Sheriff Hussein has received some of ( Di Havilland airplanes ) given by the British air forces in Egypt then they have been transported by the vessel (Tanta) that landed in the port of Jeddah in July 1921 AD. In this connection, Sheriff Hussein employed mercenaries - pilots from different countries including Belarus, Italy, and Greece.

The pilot, Abdulsalaam Sarhan, was thanked for location of sites of airports that have been constructed in the time of the founder king Abdulaziz Al-Saud around the vast kingdom of Saudi Arabia. He contributed over decades to development of civil aviation in Saud Arabia.



The Foremost Arabian Mission to Outer Space

His royal highness, Prince Sultan bin Salman bin Abdulaziz Al-Saud has made a historic voyage to space in 1985 AD that is regarded as the initial trial over the Arab world.

Prince Sultan bin Salman bin Abdulaziz Al-Saud is referred to as the first Saudi Arab astronaut who participated in the universal mission of the space shuttle called Discovery (STS-51-G) as the payload specialist.

He had a genuine experience in both civil and military aviation as he was the founder and chef of board of Saudi Aviation Club while he practiced civil aviation for more than three decades and he served for ten years in Saudi Royal Air force. His highness gained a huge quantities of local, Arab, and universal medals and decorations in recognition of his historic achievements including (Foulard of King Abdulaziz) , (Medal of Space from National Department of Aviation and Space, NASA), (Honorary Doctorate in science from University of King Fahd for Petroleum and Minerals) and (Star Medal and Great Ribbon of China) etc.

His Highness was born in Riyadh region in the middle of Saudi Arabia where he is recently positioned as President of Saudi Commission for Tourism and Antiquities (SCTA).

*Information extracted from the photos series of Arabian aviation history book for Dr. Saad Al Ahmed.




Our Supporters









Donate Us

Help us and get involoved to make a difference. As is known, the realization of such an event is only possible through the supports of organisations / peoples. So Join with us to make this mission an history.

Please visit the page to send donations.

Quick Contact

M : +966 503340767
   : +966 542531910
E : info@saudi1-atw.com

Copyright @ 2014. All Rights Reserved by SAUDI1-ATW Site by Dazzletec